Magazine Online    The Authority On African-American Conventions, Incentives, & Leisure Travel
Industry Briefs
MillerCoors Honors The Nation's Black Press In 21st Annual Journalism Competition

MillerCoors and the National Newspapers Publishers Association (NNPA) recently announced the winners of the 21st annual MillerCoors A. Philip Randolph Messenger Awards. This year’s Awards, hosted June 23rd in Chicago at the Drake Hotel, honored the men and women of the nation’s Black press and the important role they play in serving as the "messengers of the African-American community." The award is named in honor of the late A. Philip Randolph, who inspired social consciousness. His mission lives on through these committed members of the Fourth Estate. This year’s competition acknowledged exemplary journalism in categories including Breaking News, Commentary, Economic Empowerment, Feature and Sustainability.

The 2011 award winners were: Kathy Chaney, The Chicago Defender; David L. Horne, Our Weekly; Christian Morrow, The New Pittsburgh Courier; David Stokes, The Atlanta Inquirer and Wendell Hutson, The Chicago Defender. Pictured above (second row, from left) are; Natalie Cole, Our Weekly; Wendell Hutson, The Chicago Defender; David Miller, Our Weekly, Moses Brewer, director of multicultural relations, African-American segment for MillerCoors; (middle, from left) Jenniffer French-Parker, Crossroads News; Kathy Chaney, The Chicago Defender; Al Thomas, The Philadelphia Tribune; Rod Doss, The New Pittsburgh Courier; (front row) Larry Waters, vice president of multicultural relations for MillerCoors, Bobbie Dorefoster, The Skanner; Clyde Jiles, The Houston Defender; Irv Randolph, The Philadelphia Tribune; and John B. Smith, The Atlanta Inquirer.

The MillerCoors APR Messenger Awards bestowed this year’s honorees trophies, and a top monetary award of $5,000 each for a total prize pool of $25,000.