Magazine Online    The Authority On African-American Conventions, Incentives, & Leisure Travel
Food Service Beat
Suriname Chefs Association Announces 2014 National Culinary Team, To Compete At Taste Of The Caribbean 2014

The Suriname Chefs Association selected its 2014 Suriname National Culinary Team and announced its upcoming participation at Taste of the Caribbean, the Caribbean Hotel and Tourism Association's (CHTA) annual culinary competition, taking place at the Hyatt Regency, Miami, June 28 - July 2, 2014 in Miami, FL.

Selected through individual competitions, the Suriname National Culinary Team is comprised of: Tirsa Braumuller, team captain and sous chef/co-owner of Tori Oso; Jethro Wirht, sous chef at Hotel Krasnapolsky; Giovanni Asmo, pastry chef at Courtyard by Marriott Paramaribo; Michel Blackson, bartender at Torarica; Sherwin Alexander, sous chef at Torarica; and Algeray Ravenberg, junior chef, student at Public Industrial Vocational School (Openbare Nijverheidsschool).

While competing at Taste of the Caribbean, the 2014 Suriname National Culinary Team will participate in a four-day cook off where the top chefs and bartenders from the Caribbean will present a variety of entrees and cocktails, ranging from innovative to traditional, as they battle for top honors including: Caribbean Culinary Team of the Year, Caribbean Chef of the Year, Caribbean Pastry Chef of the Year , Caribbean Bartender of the Year and Caribbean Junior Chef of the Year.

The Suriname National Culinary Team is currently sponsored by: de Keurslager NV; Suriname Alcoholic Beverages NV; Soeng Ngie; Staatsolie NV; Spice Quest; and Victuals.  For team sponsorship opportunities and business inquiries, or for more information on the Suriname Culinary Team, contact Jill-Joy Landburg/ / Telephone: (597) 878 0885.

Pictured here (l-r) are Tirsa Braumuller, Giovanni Asmo, Michel Blackson,

Sherwin Alexander & Jethro Wirht.

Keep up with the Suriname National Culinary Team on Facebook.