Magazine Online    The Authority On African-American Conventions, Incentives, & Leisure Travel
Food Service Beat
Barbados, Jamaica, Puerto Rico, Bahamas, Trinidad & Tobago Take Top Honors At Taste Of The Caribbean 2013

The meals have been made, the cocktails stirred and the pastries baked. Judges have scored every detail of the "Taste of the Caribbean" culinary competition, which led to the crowning of Barbados as the Caribbean Culinary Team of the Year, sponsored by Alouette, Anco and International Dairy Farms. The highest individual honors were bestowed upon Brian Lumley, Jamaica, for Caribbean Chef of the Year, sponsored by PRG Solutions; Roberto Rodriguez, Puerto Rico, for Caribbean Bartender of the Year sponsored by Rums of Puerto Rico; Sheldon Tracey Sweeting, Bahamas, for Caribbean Pastry Chef of the Year, sponsored by Albert Uster Imports, Inc.; and Naomi Lovell, Trinidad & Tobago, for Caribbean Junior Chef of the Year. The Caribbean Hotel & Tourism Association (CHTA) hosted "Taste of the Caribbean" June 26 - 30, 2013 at the Hyatt Regency, Miami.

Caribbean National Team Medals sponsored by Alouette, Anco and International Dairy Farms
Winner: Barbados
Gold Medals: Bahamas, Barbados and Trinidad & Tobago
Silver Medals: Anguilla, Curacao, Jamaica, Puerto Rico, Suriname and the U.S. Virgin Islands
Bronze Medals: Bonaire

Caribbean Chef Medals sponsored by PRG Solutions
Winner: Jamaica - Brian Lumley, Embassy of France in Jamaica
Gold Medals: Jamaica - Brian Lumley
Silver Medals: Anguilla - Lester Gumbs; Bahamas - Emmanuel Gibson; Barbados - Andre Nurse; Curacao - Adriyel Lourens; Puerto Rico - Joel Rodriguez; Suriname - Jethro Daniel Wirth; and U.S. Virgin Islands - Dennis Vanterpool
Bronze Medals: Bonaire - Robertico Bernabela and Trinidad & Tobago - Jeremy Lovell

Caribbean Bartender Medals sponsored by Rums of Puerto Rico
Winner: Puerto Rico - Roberto Rodriguez, Instituto De Banca San Juan
Gold Medal: Puerto Rico - Roberto Rodriguez; Trinidad & Tobago - Clinton Ramdhan; and U. S. Virgin Islands - Brandon DeCloux
Silver Medals: Anguilla - Levon Richardson; Bahamas - Charon McKenzie; Barbados - Rohan Hackshaw; Bonaire - Tarimar Thom; Curacao - Glenn Kemp; Jamaica - Melissa Fletcher; and Suriname - Michel Marlon Blackson

Caribbean Pastry Chef Medals sponsored by AUI - Albert Uster Imports
Winner: Bahamas - Sheldon Tracey Sweeting, Private Chef
Gold Medals: Bahamas - Sheldon Tracey Sweeting; and U. S. Virgin Islands - Eric "Bernie" Burrell III
Silver Medals: Anguilla - Lashaunda Davis; Barbados - Julian Broome; Puerto Rico - Pablo Colon; and Trinidad & Tobago - Cheryl-Ann Shortt Charles
Bronze Medals: Jamaica - Lincoln Peterkin; and Suriname - Giovanni Ismael Asmo
Honorable Mention: Bonaire - Junior Janga; and Curacao - Carlos Anthonij

Caribbean Junior Chef Medals
Winner: Trinidad & Tobago - Naomi Lovell, student of the Trinidad and Tobago Hospitality and Tourism Institute
Gold Medals: Dwayne Sinclair; Barbados - Javon Cummins; and Trinidad & Tobago - Naomi Lovell
Silver Medals: Anguilla - Mtima Daniels; Curacao - Ashohary Julian; Jamaica - Jay Samuda-Thomas; Puerto Rico - Julio Lamberty; and Suriname - Vanina Candes Tjon a Tjoen
Bronze Medals: Bonaire - Giovannie Veld; and U. S. Virgin Islands - Ilejah Crabbe

For more information, visit Follow CHTA on Facebook and Twitter